3.1 Phillip Lim Fall 2010 Collection

This season, Phillip Lim was all about the ’70s. Everything about this collection was inspired by the decade of the freespirit, punk rock, bell-bottoms, and disco.

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

Image: Imaxtree

I talk a lot about how much I adore Phillip Lim. I discovered him before he was huge, and I’ve been following his career enthusiastically every step of the way. I’ve previously declared that Phillip Lim is redefining American sportswear, and he continues to prove that, especially in this down-turn economy. Consumers are demanding quality. People no longer want  to shell out $800 for a black cashmere sweater. They want something beautiful, different, unique… Something worth the price. Phillip Lim is filling that need right now by making beautiful clothes (SEE ABOVE) at a unbelievable price point. Luxury is no longer defined by the price, it’s defined by the quality.

I loved Lim’s Fall collection. The nod to the 70s was refreshing and unexpected. I’m sick of seeing 80s inspired collections, and this feels like a breath of fresh air to me. I picture these clothes on a hip, cool-chick version of Mary Tyler Moore.

Leave a Reply

