Alexander McQueen Commits Suicide

This morning, it was reported that Alexander McQueen committed suicide at his home in London. This is a devastating loss for the fashion community. McQueen was a brilliant, creative mind.

Anna Wintour issued a statement on his passing. She said, “We are devastated to learn of the death of Alexander McQueen, one of the greatest talents of his generation. He brought a uniquely British sense of daring and aesthetic fearlessness to the global stage of fashion. In such a short career, Alexander McQueen’s influence was astonishing — from street style, to music culture and the world’s museums. His passing marks an insurmountable loss.” This properly sums up McQueen’s reach and influence.

Alexander McQueen - Image: Marcio Madeira

I have a personal love and adoration for Alexander McQueen. When I was in middle school, I wanted to be a fashion designer. I got my first sketchbook, inherited a collection of Vogue issues from my aunt, and found this channel on cable television that would show fashion shows ’round the clock.. I was in heaven. And I remember the first time I saw Alexander McQueen’s show on that cable television channel. Headpieces, a runway with a Merry-go-Round, black lipstick, loud music, and flashing lights. I was completely transfixed. I had never seen a show like this. I was struck and inspired by his creativity and fearlessness. I knew that he represented something different to the fashion industry. (thanks to Style.com, I was able to find images from the said show – Fall 2001)

Alexander McQueen Fall 2001 - Style.com

Alexander McQueen Fall 2001 - Style.com

Alexander McQueen Fall 2001 - Style.com

Alexander McQueen Fall 2001 - Style.com

Another favorite McQueen moment, Fall 2009.

Image: Marcio Madeira

Image: Marcio Madeira

Image: Marcio Madeira

Image: Marcio Madeira

Image: Marcio Madeira

Prayers are with the McQueen family. He will be remembered as a brilliant creative genius.

Leave a Reply

