Elle Has Gone Off the Deep End?!

Elle is definitely one of the more intelligent women’s magazines out there. Their content is more elevated than some of their competitors, their headlines are witty and require some intelligence to decipher, and they are clearly speaking to a mature, successful woman. Although sometimes I feel like I’m reading about Botox month after month, the magazine has some very strong FOB columns, like their fashion news and New Designers section (my personal favorite section of any magazine ever). And all around, Elle is one of my favorites.

I was STUNNED when I discovered that… MILEY CYRUS will be the cover girl for the August 2009 issue of Elle. Elle. That’s right. Not ElleGirl, that folded. ELLE. Something is not right with this picture… And I have quotes to prove it.

miley-cyrus-elle-august-2009

Of her Walmart line designed with Max Azria, Miley says, “The jeans are my favorite part of the entire line. Because, like, literally this is going to be good for, like, Middle America, and it will be great for kids that really want to be in fashion but that don’t have it available.”

So eloquent. But this is just a terrible choice for cover girl. The demographic that Elle is supposed to represent will not want to read about Miley Cyrus. I don’t even want to read about her and I’m in college.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some teen idols that make wonderful women’s magazine cover girls. Taylor Swift, who graces the August cover of Glamour. Vanessa Hudgens is a regular on the fashion mag circuit due to her unique style, most recently covering InStyle UK. And Emma Watson, who is starring in the latest Burberry ad campaigns. These are all wonderful picks. But Miley Cyrus, in my opinion, has absolutely nothing to offer Elle readers.

Will you be buying this issue?

2 responses to “Elle Has Gone Off the Deep End?!

  1. hell no.
    I’m avoiding this upcoming issue, I won’t even touch it.

    miley. woof.

  2. No, it’s nice to see that someone else agrees. Miley Cyrus in my eyes is an absolute idiot.

Leave a Reply

