SO I’m going to weigh in on the Chris Brown/Rihanna drama…

When I heard about Chris Brown and his assault on girlfriend Rihanna, I was appalled just like everyone else. What I was NOT prepared for, however, was the idea that Rihanna would “forgive” Chris Brown, and continue her relationship with him. 

Obviously, I am in NO position to judge her for doing this. Nothing remotely similar has ever happened to me (thank god!) but I can’t help but be a little turned off by the fact that, reportedly, they are dating again. 

What I find even more awful, and scary… are some of the “reader responses” I read on Ann Shoket, Editor in Chief of Seventeen’s blog.

One reader wrote, “Of course I feel bad for Robyn (Rihanna), but I also feel horrible for Chris Brown! I mean, he could have been drunk at the time when this happened…”  — SERIOUSLY?! He could have been drunk at the time? And that excuses the fact that he horribly assaulted his girlfriend? I honestly feel horribly for the girl who wrote that if she does think that it’s excused if he were drunk. 

Another semi-delusional reader wrote, “I don’t think people should judge him. Chris Brown is a great guy, so Rihanna probably did something that made him do that. He wouldn’t just hit her for no reason.” 

REGARDLESS OF THE REASON, the fight, whatever, there is NOTHING that makes it “OK” for anyone to hit anyone else! To see people write things like this scares me, and the fact that Rihanna and Chris Brown are apparently dating again scares me also. What will young girls that look up to Rihanna think? 

Sadly, this kind of situation happens everyday, but when it happens to high profile celebs like Rihanna, I can’t help but think people will look at this as an example that, in my opinion, should not be followed. Of course, there is SO much more to the story that we’ll never know, but I just can’t get the comments of these girls off my mind!

 

read more at: http://www.seventeen.com/magazine/ann-blog/

Leave a Reply

