Julian Louie – New Prince of Fashion

By now, everyone should know the name Julian Louie! Last month, NYmag featured him in another fantastic feature “Newbies” and dubbed him the New Prince of Fashion… quite an honor if I do say so myself. 

Louie’s attitude about his career as a fashion designer is refreshing. He isn’t after the glamorous life of a designer that most young fashion students dream of obtaining. And his Spring 09 collection of mini dresses definitely exhibits a juxtaposition of textiles and lines. His collection of 15 mini dresses are essentially scuba gear meets red carpet, with details like Swarovski crystals, zippers, and bold color blocking. I think he’s found his signature!

I like the fact that he’s not trying to be the next great American sportswear designer (my boy Phillip’s got that covered). “I like the more rarefied aspect of fashion,” Louie told NYmag. 

I love it. I love him. And I’m looking forward to his Fall 09 show this month! 

 

Image - W Magazine

Image - W Magazine

One response to “Julian Louie – New Prince of Fashion

  1. “scuba gear meets red carpet-” NIACE.

Leave a Reply

